IMG Announces Winners Of The Australian Fashion Laureate Presented By DHL, Honouring Outstanding Achievements In Australian Fashion For 2020 @AUSFW #AUSFW @IMG @IMGmodels @DHLexpress #AustralianFashionLaureate

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

SYDNEY, 1 December 2020

IMG today announced the winners of the 2020 Australian Fashion Laureate presented by DHL, celebrating Australian fashion’s innovators, leaders and change makers. Winners across award categories were revealed at a luncheon at Catalina Restaurant, Rose Bay, Sydney that brought the Australian fashion industry together in celebration.

In light of an unprecedented year of challenges, the 2020 Australian Fashion Laureate focused on the resilience, creativity and innovation displayed by Australian designers and fashion industry creatives. New Australian Fashion Laureate award categories included: 2020 Change and Innovation, awarded to four recipients; Sustainable Innovation, newly presented across both emerging and established designers; Best Australian Emerging Designer; and People’s Choice. The industry’s pinnacle honour, the Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award, again recognised longstanding and meaningful impact on the Australian fashion industry overall.

IMG is pleased to share the complete list of winners across 2020 award categories:

Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement, presented by DHL

  • Dinosaur Designs

2020 Change and Innovation 

  • Nobody Denim
  • Showroom-X
  • Gorman
  • Fella Hamilton

Sustainable Innovation (Emerging Designer), presented by GlamCorner

  • A.BCH

Sustainable Innovation (Established Designer), presented by GlamCorner

  • Nobody Denim

Best Australian Emerging Designer, presented by Shopify Plus

  • Esse

2020 People’s Choice, presented by Afterpay

  • macgraw

“Today’s recognition of our industry’s leading trailblazers follows a year of overwhelming change for Australian fashion. In challenging times, the Australian Fashion Laureate has continued to provide an important platform to build camaraderie and strengthen our industry’s prominence on the global stage,” stated Natalie Xenita, Executive Director of IMG’s fashion events group, Asia-Pacific Region. “The 2020 winners have demonstrated adaptability and resilience in times of trial, and we are proud to come together in celebration of their accomplishments and leadership as we look toward brighter days ahead.”

Australian Fashion Laureate recipients are chosen by a panel of industry leaders, including media, buyers, communications professionals, creatives and designers, called the Australian Fashion Industry Alumni. The Australian Fashion Laureate is an IMG event supported by Destination New South Wales (DNSW), the NSW Government’s tourism and major events agency.

Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney Stuart Ayres said the 2020 awards would mark an important step forward for Sydney and the country’s creative industries.

“These awards recognise innovation, resilience and determination to succeed – which is how Sydney and NSW has responded to the health pandemic by keeping our economy moving, and showing that the Harbour City is a safe and desirable place to visit and do business. We are all looking forward to shining together in 2021 by bringing creativity, fashion and events to the fore in Sydney,” Minister Ayres said.

In addition to DHL and Destination NSW, the Australian Fashion Laureate is made possible through the support of Afterpay, Shopify Plus, GlamCorner and San Pellegrino.

The digital home for the Australian Fashion Laureate is and @AusFashionWeek across Instagram and Facebook, and @AUSFW on Twitter where fans may follow along through our official hashtag, #AustralianFashionLaureate.

Daniel Quintanilla

Leave a Reply