IMG Announces 2022 Finalists Of The 15th Australian Fashion Laureate

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

(SYDNEY) 12 October 2022

Today, IMG announced the finalists of the 2022 Australian Fashion Laureate, honouring the exceptional talents of Australian designers, creatives, innovators, and leaders.

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

As Australian fashion’s highest accolades, the Australian Fashion Laureate awards recognise excellence across categories including Designer of the Year, Emerging Designer of the Year, Indigenous Designer of the Year, Sustainable Innovation of the Year, and People’s Choice. The industry’s pinnacle honour, the Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award, celebrates a longstanding and meaningful impact on the Australian fashion industry. Winners will be announced at an intimate ceremony in Sydney on 22 November 2022.

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

The Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership, proudly presented by Porsche, was created in tribute to the late fashion designer and businesswoman. The winner will be announced at the opening night of Zampatti’s retrospective exhibition at the Powerhouse Ultimo on 23 November 2022.

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

“The Australian Fashion Laureate celebrates the hard work and creativity of Australia’s top designers and their role in the growth and global recognition of Australian fashion,” said Natalie Xenita, Vice President-Managing Director of IMG’s Fashion Events and Properties, Asia-Pacific. “It’s fantastic to see designers that have emerged through Afterpay Australian Fashion Week go on to be recognised at the Laureate. This year’s group of finalists have demonstrated excellence in their craft and have been purposeful in utilising their platforms and influence to communicate important social, cultural, and environmental messages.”

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

2022 Australian Fashion Laureate finalists include:

Designer of the Year, presented by BTC Markets

  • Adrian Norris and Edwina Forest, Aje
  • Camilla Freeman-Topper and Marc Freeman, CAMILLA AND MARC
  • Christopher Esber
  • Rachel Gilbert

Emerging Designer of the Year, presented by LG

  • Alix Higgins
  • Jordan Dalah
  • Jordan Gogos, Iordanes Spyridon Gogos
  • Lesleigh Jermanus, ALÉMAIS

Indigenous Designer of the Year, presented by Redken 

Denni Francisco, Ngali
Laura Thompson, Clothing The Gaps
TJ Cowlishaw, AARLI
Liandra Gaykamangu, Liandra Swim

Sustainable Innovation of the Year, presented by DHL

Bianca Spender
Kit Willow, KITX
Matt Jenson, M.J. Bale
Sarah Munro and Robert Sebastian Grynkofki, Sarah and Sebastian

Please see finalist imagery here.

The People’s Choice Award gives fashion fans the opportunity to award their favourite Australian fashion designer among finalists selected by IMG and Afterpay. Voting for the People’s Choice Award is now open here and will continue through 4 November 2022.

Courtesy: Australian Fashion Laureate

The Australian Fashion Laureate was established by IMG and the NSW Government in 2008 and is supported through its tourism and major events agency Destination NSW. Nominees were determined by a panel of industry leaders comprised of Australian Fashion Laureate alumni, including leading fashion journalists, creatives and top retail executives.

Minister for Tourism Ben Franklin said: “The NSW Government is proud to support the development, innovation and excellence of Australia’s fashion designers. Sydney is the hub of creative industries in the Asia Pacific and events like the Australian Fashion Laureate bring together the very best in the business, showcasing the Harbour City as the nation’s fashion capital and underscoring the important role of retail tourism in NSW’s economy.”

In addition to Destination NSW, the Australian Fashion Laureate is made possible through the support of Afterpay, BTC Markets, David Jones, DHL, K&L Gates, LG, Porsche, Redken, and San Pellegrino.

The Australian Fashion Laureate statuettes are generously donated by Dinosaur Designs.

The digital home for the Australian Fashion Laureate is and @ausfashionweek across Instagram and Facebook and @ausfw on Twitter, where fans may follow along through official hashtag, #AustralianFashionLaureate.

Daniel Quintanilla

Leave a Reply