IMG Announces Winners Of The 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate

Courtesy: IMG

SYDNEY, 30 November 2021

IMG today announced the winners of the 2021 Australian Fashion Laureate, honouring the creative excellence and achievements of the Australian fashion industry. Winners across award categories were revealed at a celebratory luncheon at Mimi’s Restaurant, Coogee, bringing the Australian fashion industry together for the first time since Afterpay Australian Fashion Week in June.

The Australian Fashion Laureate awards recognise Australia’s exceptional talent and highlight innovations and conversations shaping the Australian fashion industry and its future. New Australian Fashion Laureate award categories for 2021 included: Indigenous Designer of the Year, celebrating Australia’s First Nations designers; and the Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership, honouring persons who have made outstanding contributions to advancing the position of women in the Australian fashion industry. The industry’s pinnacle honour, the Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award, recognises the significant impact on the growth and development of the Australian fashion industry overall.

Courtesy: IMG

IMG is pleased to share the complete list of winners across 2021 award categories:

Australian Fashion Laureate Lifetime Achievement Award
Linda Jackson AO

Carla Zampatti Award for Excellence in Leadership, presented by Porsche
Grace Lillian Lee

Designer of the Year
Anna Plunkett and Luke Sales, Romance Was Born

Emerging Designer of the Year, presented by Shopify
Richard Jarman, COMMAS

Indigenous Designer of the Year
Julie Shaw, MAARA Collective

Sustainable Innovation of the Year, presented by GlamCorner
Deborah Sams and Mary Lou Ryan, bassike

People’s Choice, presented by Afterpay
Elizabeth Abegg and Isabella Pennefather, Spell

Please see award recipient and event imagery here.

“The Australian Fashion Laureate provides an important platform to celebrate the success of Australia’s designers and fashion talent, while demonstrating that our industry’s creativity and connectivity can continue to flourish despite extraordinary challenges,” stated Natalie Xenita, Vice President-Managing Director of IMG’s fashion events and properties, Asia-Pacific. “In striving for change and innovation, today’s honourees have played a significant role in futureproofing our industry and reinforcing the cultural impact of fashion both within and beyond Australia.”

Australian Fashion Laureate recipients are chosen by Australian Fashion Industry Alumni, a panel of industry leaders, including media, buyers, communications professionals, creatives and designers.

The Australian Fashion Laureate is an IMG event supported by the NSW Government through Destination New South Wales.

Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney, Stuart Ayres, said: “The Australian Fashion Laureate is a fantastic platform for our emerging and established fashion designers, and what better way to showcase the convergence of culture and nature in NSW than by honouring their talent against the spectacular backdrop of Sydney’s world-famous Coogee Beach. The NSW Government is proud to partner with IMG in congratulating the recipients of this year’s awards and celebrating the leadership and innovation in fashion that they represent. The Australian Fashion Laureateunderscores Sydney as Australia’s fashion capital and the importance of fashion retail to the NSW visitor economy. We look forward to supporting the economic growth and success of NSW designers and the broader fashion industry into the future.”

In addition to Destination NSW, the Australian Fashion Laureate is made possible through the support of Afterpay, GlamCorner, K&L Gates, Porsche, San Pellegrino and Shopify.

The Australian Fashion Laureate statuettes are created and generously donated by Dinosaur Designs.

The digital home for the Australian Fashion Laureate is and @ausfashionweek across Instagram and Facebook and @ausfw on Twitter, where the industry and fans may follow along through official hashtag, #AustralianFashionLaureate.

Daniel Quintanilla

Leave a Reply